Mount Everest

The Tibetans call the highest mountain of the world Chomolungma, Mother-goddess of the Earth. At 8848m/29,029ft, Mount Everest is the highest of fourteen 8000-meter peaks in the Himalayas. It has been named after Sir George Everest, the British surveyor and geographer and Surveyor-General of India.

On May 29th 1953 Sir Edmund Hillary and Tenzing Norgay became the first climbers to summit the world's tallest mountain. On May 27th 1999 Helga Hengge reached the summit via the North East Ridge in Tibet and became the first German woman to do so successfully. Twenty years prior, in 1979, Hannelore Schmatz had reached the summit via the South Col Route in Nepal and tragically died of exhaustion while descending.

 

Base Camp Team - Mt. Everest
The Team of the Himalayan Experience Expedition
Expedition Leader: Russell Brice
Sherpa Climbing Team:
Lobsang, Phurba, Karsang, Sonam and Narwang
Kitchen Team:
Lacchu, Kul Badur and Chimi
Tibetan Yakpas from the Rongbuk Valley: Kassang and Chhuldrim
Climbers: Ken, Geoff, Kozuka, Kobayashi and Helga

An expedition to climb Mount Everest takes about two months. Critical for all climbers is the acclimatization, meaning getting the body used to the thin air. With increasing altitude the barometric pressure sinks and at an altitude of 5000 meters the body can take in only half the amount of oxygen as compared to sea level, while above 7500 meters it is only one-third. At 8000 meters the so-called death-zone starts, a zone on the mountain where the body degenerates rapidly and very quickly loses its strength.

The ascent on the North East Ridge Route starts in the Rongbuk Valley in Tibet. At the end of the Rongbuk Glacier base camp is set up at an altitude of 5200 meters. The ascent to advanced base camp to an altitude of 6400 meters is a 24-kilometer walk and leads through the Eastern Rongbuk Valley to the foot of the North Col Wall. From there four high camps are set up on the mountain, Camp 1 at 7000 meters on the North Col, Camp 2 at the end of a long traverse at 7600 meters, Camp 3 in the rocks at 7950 meters and Camp 4 at a height of 8300 meters in the North Face. The critical point of the North East Ridge route is the famous Second Step. It is located at about 8600 meters, a steep rock wall of about 20 meters in height that has to be climbed to reach the ridge. From there the North East Ridge Route follows an easy path along the top of the Kangshung Face (the East Face of the mountain) along uneven rock and snow fields which convolutes into a steeper snow field under the summit pyramid. The summit is not bigger than two kitchen tables pushed together, but the view is as grand as the whole world.

© 2017 Helga Hengge. All rights reserved.

Mount Everest

Die Tibeter nennen den höchsten Berg der Erde Chomolungma – Muttergöttin der Erde. Der Mount Everest ist mit 8848 Metern der höchste von 14 Achttausendern im Himalaya und wurde nach dem britischen Landvermesser Sir George Everest benannt.

Sir Edmund Hillary und Tenzing Norgay gelang am 29. Mai 1953 die Erstbesteigung über die Südroute in Nepal. Am 27. Mai 1999 schaffte Helga Hengge über die Nordroute in Tibet als erste Deutsche die erfolgreiche Besteigung. Bereits zwanzig Jahre vorher, 1979, konnte Hannelore Schmatz den Gipfel des Mount Everest über die Südroute in Nepal erreichen, kam aber beim Abstieg tragischerweise ums Leben.

Base Camp Team - Mt. Everest
Das Team der Himalayan Experience Expedition
Expeditionsleiter: Russell Brice
Sherpa Climbing Team:
Loppsang, Phurba, Karsang, Sonam und Narwang
Küchenmannschaft:
Lacchu, Kul Badur und Chimi
Tibetische Yakpas aus dem Rongbuktal: Kassang und Chhuldrim
Bergsteiger: Ken, Geoff, Kozuka, Kobayashi und Helga

Eine Expedition auf den Mount Everest dauert etwa zwei Monate. Kritisch für alle Bergsteiger ist die Akklimatisierung, das heißt, den Körper an die dünne Luft zu gewöhnen. Mit steigender Höhe sinkt der Sauerstoffpartialdruck und auf einer Höhe von 5000 Metern kann der Körper im Vergleich zur Meeresspiegelhöhe nur noch etwa die Hälfte des Sauerstoffs aus der Luft aufnehmen, über 7500 Metern ist es nur noch ein Drittel. Auf 8000 Metern beginnt die sogenannte „Todeszone“, eine Zone in der Körper degeneriert und sehr stark an Kräften verliert.

Der Aufstieg auf der Nordroute beginnt im Rongbuktal. Auf einer Höhe von 5200 Metern, am Ende des Rongbukgletschers, wird das Basecamp errichtet. Der Aufstieg zum vorgeschobenen Base Camp (ABC, advanced base camp genannt) beträgt etwa 24 Kilometer und führt durch das östliche Rongbuktal an den Fuß der Nordsattel-Wand auf 6400 Meter. Von dort werden vier Höhencamps für den Aufstieg zum Gipfel errichtet. Das erste Camp steht auf dem 7000 Meter hohen Nordsattel (North Col), das zweite Camp am Ende einer langen Traverse auf 7600 Metern, Camp 3 darüber in den Felsen auf 7950 Meter Höhe und Camp 4 auf 8300 Meter Höhe in der Nordwand. Die Crux der Nordroute ist die Zweite Stufe, die auf 8600 Metern etwa 20 Meter fast senkrecht in die Höhe ragt. Von dort führt die Route auf dem Grat an der Kangshungwand (Ostwand) entlang über unebene Geröll- und Schneepassagen in ein steiles Gipfelschneefeld. Der Gipfel ist nur so groß wie zwei Küchentische zusammengeschoben.

© 2017 Helga Hengge. Alle Rechte vorbehalten.